COSC के अध्यक्ष के रूप में कार्यभार संभालने के लिए सेना प्रमुख बिपिन रावत चुने गए

Army chief Bipin Rawat to take over as COSC chairman: 28.09.2019

Points to Remember:

  • Army chief General Bipin Rawat will take over as the chairman of Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC).
  • He will replace Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa who will be retiring by the end of this month.
  • The Army Chief is scheduled to retire on December 31.
  • Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa had taken charge of Chairman of COSC from then Navy Chief Admiral Sunil Lanba on May 29.

About COSC :

  • The Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC) comprises chiefs of the Army, the Navy and the Air Force and the senior most member is appointed its chairperson.
  • The senior-most among the chiefs of the three services is appointed as the chairman of Chiefs of Staff Committee.
  • The Chairman of COSC is tasked with ensuring synergy among the three services and evolve common strategy to deal with external security challenges facing the country.

Current holders:

  • Army Chief: Bipin Rawat
  • Air Chief Marshal: Birender Singh Dhanoa
  • Navy Chief: Karambir Singh
Important Possible questions based on above News:
  1. Recently who will take over as the chairman of Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC)? Bipin Rawat
  2. In context to defence, what does COSC stands for? Chiefs of Staff Committee



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *