SSC CGL 2019 Syllabus

SSC CPO 2019 Recruitment Out

SSC CGL Syllabus 2019: SSC CGL Tier I, II, III & IV Syllabus

One of the most awaited exam of the year is SSC CGL. A large number of graduate aspirants appear for this exam every year. The official dates of the CGL 2019 have been declared by the SSC authorities. As it is a multiphase exam, the preliminary dates for the examination are from 2nd march to 11th March 2020. The tier II of the examination will be held from 22nd June to 25th June 2020. The exam is a highly reputed exam and every year, this exam is given the priority by more number of aspirants. Comprehensive knowledge of the SSC exam syllabus is a must for the aspirants to crack the exam. In this article, you can get the details in depth regarding the SSC CGL exam pattern and its syllabus.

SSC CGL is an exam which is conducted in four tiers. Tier I and tier II are compulsory for all the aspirants, the remaining two tiers depending on the post of the job that aspirant is wishing for. Let us have a look at the SSC CGL Syllabus 2019 of each tier in detail.

SSC CGL syllabus tier I:

This is the preliminary stage of examination for the SSC CGL 2019 applicants. Qualifying this exam is a must by the student in order to get a good post. The SSC CGL exam pattern is similar to a few other exams conducted by SSC. The exam consists of four major sections of general awareness, reasoning, quantitative aptitude, and the English language. SSC CGL 2019 syllabus for the tier I and the SSC CGL exam pattern is given in detail below.

SSC CGL tier 1 exam pattern:

The exam pattern of SSC CGL 2019 is quite easy to understand. There are four major sections namely: English language, reasoning ability, general awareness, and quantitative aptitude. Each section of the exam consists of 25 questions. Each question is awarded 2 marks and thus, the total marks add to 200. The complete-time duration for the exam is 60 minutes. Thus, there is no sectional time limit for the exams. This can be easily understood given below:

S No. Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
1 General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 A cumulative time of 60 minutes
2 General Awareness 25 50
3 Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
4 English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200  

SSC CGL syllabus tier 1:

Quantitative aptitude syllabus:

The quantitative aptitude is one of the toughest portions of the exam and it should be prepared well by the aspirants. Just go through the syllabus carefully, the scope of the test will be containing:

  • Decimals
  • Fractions
  • Relationship between numbers
  • Profit and loss
  • Mixture and allegation
  • Time and distance
  • Discount
  • Ratio and proportion
  • Square roots
  • Percentage
  • Basic algebraic identities
  • Surds and indices
  • Triangles
  • Circle and its cords, tangents
  • Quadrilaterals
  • Regular polygon
  • Mensuration
  • Heights and distances
  • Pie charts
  • Trigonometric ratios
  • Standard identities of trigonometry
  • Partnership

Reasoning Syllabus:

In the SSC CGL 2019 syllabusReasoning is a quite easy subject and thus, you can easily excel in this section the detailed syllabus is given below:

  • Analogy
  • Number series
  • Alphanumeric series
  • Coding and decoding
  • Syllogism
  • Venn diagrams
  • Non verbal reasoning
  • Clocks
  • Calendar
  • Figures patterns
  • Paper cutting and folding
  • Direction sense
  • Circular and linear arrangements
  • Ranking
  • Dice
  • Cubes and cuboids

English syllabus:

The major topics covered under this section are:

  • Phrases and idioms
  • Error spotting
  • Sentence completion
  • Reading comprehension
  • Fill in the blanks
  • Correct spellings
  • Active and passive arrangements
  • Cloze test
  • One word substitution

General awareness syllabus:

This section covers both G.K and GS. The test will include the following topics:

  • History of India and culture
  • Geography of India
  • Polity
  • Economics
  • Science
  • Current affairs
  • Books and authors
  • Sports
  • Important schemes
  • Important days
  • Portfolios
  • People

Once the student has qualified for the exam, the candidate is eligible for the tier II of exam. The mains consists of the following sections:

  • Quantitative aptitude
  • English language
  • General studies
  • Statistics

The SSC CGL 2019 syllabus of the SSC CGL tier II is discussed in detail here. Let us have a look at it.

Quantitative aptitude syllabus: the Mains will be asking 100 questions from this section. The topics covered under this section are:

  • Simplification
  • Simple and compound interest
  • Percentage
  • Ratio and proportion
  • Problems on ages
  • Boast and streams
  • Mixture and allegation
  • Number series
  • Profit and loss
  • Time speed and distance
  • Mensuration
  • Data interpretation
  • Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Trigonometry

General awareness:

  • Finance and accounting
  • Fundamental principles
  • Basic concepts of accounting
  • Finance and economy
  • Finance and economy
  • Polity
  • Economic governance
  • Comptroller and auditor general of India
  • Finance commission
  • Theory of demand and supply


  • Probability theory
  • Measure of dispersion
  • The measure of central tendency
  • Moments, skewness and kurtosis
  • Correlation and regression
  • Random variables and probability
  • Sampling theory
  • Analysis of variance
  • Index number
  • Statistical interference
  • Time series analysis.

English language:

  • Reading comprehension
  • Fill in the blanks
  • Spelling errors
  • Idioms and phrases
  • One word substitution
  • Sentence completion
  • Spotting the errors
  • Antonym and synonyms
  • Direct and indirect narration
  • Active and passive voice
  • Rearrangements of the sentences.

SSC CGL tier III syllabus:

The tier III exam of the SSCG CGL is a descriptive exam. This test has been specially designed to evaluate the written skills of the candidates. This is a pen and paper exam and the students will have to write essays, précis, and applications in this exam. The overall marks of the examination are 100 marks and students will be allotted 60 minutes to write the exam. This exam is strategically given by the students who are only interested in the post of statistical investigator grade II and compiler.

SSC CGL tier IV syllabus:

For a few government posts, a tier IV exam is conducted to test a couple of skill sets. These skills are:

  • DEST: Data entry speed test is conducted to test the typing speed of the candidate. This is also a part of the SSC CGL Syllabus 2019.
  • CPT: Computer proficiency test is important for those candidates who are appearing for the post of CSS, MEA, inspector, etc.

This is the detailed SSC CGL Syllabus. Based on this syllabus, you can begin your preparation for the SSC CGL exam. If you still have any questions or queries related to the CGL exam, SSC CGL Syllabus 2019 or any other doubt, feel free to contact us.



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *