Margaret Atwood, Bernardine Evaristo create history by jointly winning the Booker Prize

बुकर पुरस्कार के लिए टूटा नियम, एटवुड व एवरिस्टो संयुक्त विजेता घोषित

Points to Remember:

  • Judges tore up the rule book, awarding the prestigious Booker Prize for Fiction jointly to Canadian author Margaret Atwood for ‘The Testaments’ and Anglo-Nigerian author Bernardine Evaristo for ‘Girl, Woman, Other’.
  • Atwood becomes only the second female author to win the award twice, sharing the £50,000 ($62,800, 60,000 euros) prize at the 50th anniversary ceremony at London’s Guildhall.
  • The award has been shared twice before, in 1974 and 1997, when the rules were changed to supposedly prevent it from happening again.

About Booker Prize:

  • Awarded for: Best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK and Ireland
  • Location: Guildhall, London, England
  • Presented by: Man Group (until 31 May 2019), Crankstart (effective 01 June 2019)
  • First awarded: 1969 (as Booker–McConnell Prize)
Important Possible questions based on above News:
  1. Which two female author have jointly won the Booker Prize for Fiction 2019 in London? Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo
  2. Who recently became the second female author to win the Booker Prize twice? Margaret Atwood
  3. Booker Prize 2019 was given for which two books? ‘The Testaments’ & ‘Girl, Woman, Other’



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *