ICC readmits Zimbabwe and Nepal as members: 15.10.2019

आईसीसी ने जिम्बाब्वे और नेपाल को अपने सदस्य के रूप में फिर से शामिल किया

Points to Remember:

  • The ICC has decided to readmit Zimbabwe and Nepal as its members following the conclusion of the Board meeting in Dubai.
  • Zimbabwe were suspended in July this year following government interference in the running of the Board.
  • Nepal were suspended in 2016 for breach of the ICC regulations which prohibit government interference and require free and fair elections.
  • In other decisions, ICC decided to increase the prize money for ICC women’s events by USD 2.6 million.
  • For the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia next year, the winners and runners up will now receive USD 1 million and USD 500,000 respectively — five times the amount on offer in 2018.
  • There will also be a substantial increase in the money available for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 with the prize pot increasing to USD 3.5m from USD 2m in 2017.
  • The Board also approved the establishment of an U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup with the first edition to be played in Bangladesh in 2021 and every two years after that.

About International Cricket Council (ICC):

  • Motto: Cricket for good.
  • Predecessor: Imperial Cricket Conference (1909–1965) International Cricket Conference (1965–1989)
  • Formation: 15 June 1909
  • Headquarters: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Membership: 104 members
  • Chairman: Shashank Manohar (India)
  • CEO: Manu Sawhney (India)
Important Possible questions based on above News:
  1. Which two countries have been readmitted as ICC Members following the conclusion of the ICC Board meetings in Dubai? Zimbabwe and Nepal
  2. The first edition of U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup will be played in which country in 2021? Bangladesh
  3. Recently, ICC has decided to increase the prize money for ICC women’s events by: USD 2.6 million



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *