Olga Tokarczuk, Peter Handke win Literature Nobel for 2018, 2019

2018 के लिए तोकारचुक और 2019 के लिए हैंडके को साहित्य का नोबेल पुरस्कार मिला

Points to Remember:

  • The 2018 and 2019 Nobel Prize in Literature were awarded to Polish author Olga Tokarczuk and Austrian author Peter Handke, respectively.
  • The prize was postponed in 2018 for the first time in 70 years after the academy was hit by a sexual assault scandal at the height of the MeToo Movement, leaving the institution paralysed.
  • The Nobel Prize in Literature has now been awarded 112 times to 116 Nobel laureates.
  • Olga Tokarczuk, author of ‘Ksiegi Jakubowe’ (‘The Books of Jacob’), won the prize for “for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life
  • Olga Tokarczuk, the 15th woman to win the Nobel Literature Prize, also won the International Booker Prize in 2018.
  • Peter Handke, who once called for the Nobel Literature Prize to be abolished, won the prize “for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience

About Nobel Prize:

  • Awarded for: Outstanding contributions for humanity in chemistry, literature, peace, physics, physiology or medicine, and economic sciences
  • Country : Sweden (all prizes except the Peace Prize), Norway (Peace Prize only)
  • Presented by: Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Physiology or Medicine), Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace), Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Physics), Swedish Academy (Literature)
  • Reward(s): Prize money of 9 million SEK, approx. US$986,000 (2018);a medal;and a diploma
  • First awarded: 1901
Important Possible questions based on above News:
  1. Who won the Nobel Prize in Literature for 2019? Peter Handke
  2. Who won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature? Olga Tokarczuk


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *