1 ब्रिटिश व 2 अमेरिकी वैज्ञानिकों को संयुक्त रूप से मिला मेडिसिन का नोबेल पुरस्कार

3 scientists win Medicine Nobel for discoveries of how cells use oxygen

Points to Remember:

  • The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded jointly to American scientists William Kaelin Jr and Gregg Semenza, and British biologist Sir Peter Ratcliffe.
  • The trio won it for discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.
  • The three will share the Nobel prize sum of nine million Swedish kronor (about USD 914,000).
  • It is the 110th prize in the category that has been awarded since 1901.
  • 2018 winners- James P Allison and Tasuku Honjo for discovering how to fight cancer using the body’s immune system

Why did they win?

  • The work of the three men “identified the molecular machinery that regulates the activity of genes in response to varying levels of oxygen,” according to the Nobel Assembly, which described it as a major addition to the scientific understanding of the importance of oxygen to animals.

About Nobel Prize:

  • Awarded for: Outstanding contributions for humanity in chemistry, literature, peace, physics, physiology or medicine, and economic sciences
  • Country : Sweden (all prizes except the Peace Prize), Norway (Peace Prize only)
  • Presented by: Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Physiology or Medicine), Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace), Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Physics), Swedish Academy (Literature)
  • Reward(s): Prize money of 9 million SEK, approx. US$986,000 (2018);a medal;and a diploma
    First awarded: 1901
Important Possible questions based on above News:
  1. Name the three scientists, who have been jointly awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize for Physiology? William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza
  2. Name the youngest-ever person who won a Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine at the age of 32 in 1923 for co-discovering insulin? Frederick Banting


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *